Leighton Rose

Author of M/M Romance Novels

Mia Kerick’s The Red Sheet Blog Tour!

I’d like to welcome Mia Kerick, author of the recently released YA novel The Red Sheet, to my blog today! She’s here to promote her new release and talk a little bit about kryptonite and how it relates to her characters.  Plus there’s a rafflecopter giveaway to enter at the bottom! I hope you guys love Mia as much as I do! 🙂

The Red Sheet Book Cover                

Description:

One October morning, high school junior Bryan Dennison wakes up a different person—helpful, generous, and chivalrous—a person whose new admirable qualities he doesn’t recognize. Stranger still is the urge to tie a red sheet around his neck like a cape.
Bryan soon realizes this compulsion to wear a red cape is accompanied by more unusual behavior. He can’t hold back from retrieving kittens from tall trees, helping little old ladies cross busy streets, and defending innocence anywhere he finds it.
Shockingly, at school, he realizes he used to be a bully. He’s attracted to the former victim of his bullying, Scott Beckett, though he has no memory of Scott from before “the change.” Where he’d been lazy in academics, overly aggressive in sports, and socially insecure, he’s a new person. And although he can recall behaving egotistically, he cannot remember his motivations.
Everyone, from his mother to his teachers to his “superjock” former pals, is shocked by his dramatic transformation. However, Scott Beckett is not impressed by Bryan’s newfound virtue. And convincing Scott he’s genuinely changed and improved, hopefully gaining Scott’s trust and maybe even his love, becomes Bryan’s obsession.

With a foreword by C. Kennedy

Book Links:

Dreamspinner  Ι  Goodreads

Excerpt:

“Dinner, Bry!” My mom called me into the kitchen from where I was busily dusting in the family room. (No heckling from the peanut gallery, please.)

As I entered the kitchen, I uttered, “I just love this feather duster, Mom. It really traps the dirt.” (Again, please refrain from commentary.)

She pulled off her glasses so they hung down on the chain she wore around her neck, rubbed her eyes, and then examined me with no small amount of concern. “Sure, Bryan… whatever you say. Um, you can go ahead and sit down.”

I pulled out the chair and dropped my ass down. “A hamburger… just what I was in the mood for.” I sent her a sly wink, an exact replica of the one Miss Libby had sent me in class earlier this week.

After she sat down, Mom rubbed her eyes one more time and apparently checked to see if it was actually her son sitting across from her. “So, Bry—are you feeling well these days? You’ve been acting a bit… um, strange… this week.”

“Things are improving every day.” I had a momentary qualm of conscience about eating what had once been a living, breathing mammal with a cute cow’s face, but since Mom, who wasn’t exactly Rachael Ray, had gone to the trouble of making this delicious burger for me, I pushed past it. “How are things with you? How’s work?”

I didn’t know just how many times the woman could muster up the energy to gape at me with such incredulousness, but she managed to do it one more time, as if I’d never asked her about her work before that very moment. “Things are… fine, Bry. Just fine.” She took a bite of her own burger. “Your father called me last night. He’d like to see you.”

I shuddered with revulsion. Can you say kryptonite?

My father was my own personal kryptonite. I just knew it.

Dear old Dad, who’d left Mom and me back when I was in second grade because he’d found a woman who was younger, hotter… better, seemed to be the only subject about which my heart hadn’t softened.

My single weakness.

“I don’t want to see him.” He’d hurt Mom… he’d hurt me… he’d been so wrong.

It was as if she’d read my mind. “He hurt us, yes, but he is still your father.”

I have to hold on to my anger, ’cause if I don’t… if I don’t….

“No.” I sounded like Scott when I’d asked him for a second chance.

“I really think it will be good for both of you to get together.” She placed the french fry she was holding back down on the edge of her plate and looked at me with sincerity. “I’m over the pain of what happened, Bryan. Please understand that it will not hurt me if you see him.”

“No… uh, no, thanks.” I wasn’t going to be rude to Mom because of him.

“Jonah wants to see you too.”

Shit! It isn’t my younger half brother’s fault that our father is an asshole.

“Mom, I just can’t….” I sucked down about half of my chocolate milk in an attempt to calm down. If there was ever a time for a topic change, this was it. “So, guess what! I got a B+ on my English paper.”

Guest Post:

We all have a personal Kryptonite.

Kryptonite is a fictional material from the Superman story; it is the ore form of a radioactive element from Superman’s home planet, Krypton. It is also the Achilles’ heel, or single weakness of Superman. Kryptonite causes Superman to be vulnerable to the draining of his power, and even death. Likewise, Bryan Dennison, the main character of The Red Sheet, my recent Superman-themed YA release, has a single area of weakness that he considers to be his “personal Kryptonite.” The one weakness to Bryan’s be-a-better-person/look-on-the-bright-side/give-peace-a-chance persona is the very existence of his father, Allen Dennison. You see, Mr. Dennison left Bryan and his mother when Bryan was merely seven years old in favor of what Bryan considers to be a “newer model” (younger) wife. The pain at his father’s perceived abandonment of their family has long plagued Bryan’s heart, and this lack of forgiveness constitutes the only area in which his heart remains unchanged after he experiences his miraculous overnight personality improvement. The residual hurt from his father’s abandonment still claws at Bryan’s spirit causing what he calls “white hot pain.”

Scott Beckett, the other main character in The Red Sheet, ironically perceives Bryan to be his personal Kryptonite. Bryan’s past behavior constitutes the single vulnerability to Scott’s hardened heart. As the story progresses, Bryan grows to realize that Scott is facing his own weakness in dealing with himself. So Bryan acknowledges that it is time that he, too, face his own Kryptonite: his father.

We all have people, places, and things that constitute our vulnerabilities. Personally, the mere thought of a certain woman who lives in my town possesses the power to emotionally bring me to my knees, as I have long felt ill-equipped to deal with her behaviors. And you, I’m certain, have your own private weakness. It is in facing these vulnerabilities, though, that we grow the most, as completely avoiding Kryptonite is not always within the realm of possibility.

“Kryptonite”

Three Doors Down

I took a walk around the world

To ease my troubled mind

I left my body lying somewhere

In the sands of time

But I watched the world float

To the dark side of the moon

I feel there is nothing I can do, yeah

I watched the world float

To the dark side of the moon

After all I knew it had to be

Something to do with you

I really don’t mind what happens now and then

As long as you’ll be my friend at the end

If I go crazy then will you still

Call me Superman

If I’m alive and well, will you be

There a-holding my hand

I’ll keep you by my side

With my superhuman might

Kryptonite

You called me strong, you called me weak,

But still your secrets I will keep

You took for granted all the times

I never let you down

You stumbled in and bumped your head,

If not for me then you’d be dead

I picked you up and put you back on solid ground

If I go crazy then will you still

Call me Superman

If I’m alive and well,

Will you be there a-holding my hand

I’ll keep you by my side

With my superhuman might

Kryptonite

If I go crazy then will you still

Call me Superman

If I’m alive and well, will you be there

Holding my hand

I’ll keep you by my side

With my superhuman might

Kryptonite

Yeah!!

If I go crazy then will you still

Call me Superman

If I’m alive and well,

Will you be there a-holding my hand

I’ll keep you by my side

With my superhuman might

Kryptonite

Oh, whoa, whoa

Oh, whoa, whoa

Oh, whoa, whoa

Mia Photo

About the Author:

Mia Kerick is the mother of four exceptional children—all named after saints—and five nonpedigreed cats—all named after the next best thing to saints, Boston Red Sox players. Her husband of twenty years has been told by many that he has the patience of Job, but don’t ask Mia about that, as it is a sensitive subject.

Mia focuses her stories on the emotional growth of troubled men and their relationships, and she believes that sex has a place in a love story, but not until it is firmly established as a love story. As a teen, Mia filled spiral-bound notebooks with romantic tales of tortured heroes (most of whom happened to strongly resemble lead vocalists of 1980s big-hair bands) and stuffed them under her mattress for safekeeping. She is thankful to Dreamspinner Press for providing her with an alternate place to stash her stories.

Mia is proud of her involvement with the Human Rights Campaign and cheers for each and every victory made in the name of marital equality. Her only major regret: never having taken typing or computer class in school, destining her to a life consumed with two-fingered pecking and constant prayer to the Gods of Technology.

My themes I always write about:

Sweetness. Unconventional love, tortured/damaged heroes- only love can save them.

Author Links:

http://miakerick.com/

https://www.facebook.com/mia.kerick

http://www.amazon.com/Mia-Kerick/e/B009KSTG9E/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1389575652&sr=1-1

Blogtourschedule

 

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

